Gå til hovedinnhold

Petroleum Safety Authority Norway and ONS announce HSE prize

The Petroleum Safety Authority Norway (PSA) and the Offshore Northern Seas (ONS) foundation have established an HSE prize - the PSA Award. The prize will be awarded every second year during the ONS oil exhibition in Stavanger. The deadline for nominating candidates is 1 May.


"The goal of the PSA award is to recognize particularly outstanding efforts that have contributed to better safety for employees and generally higher HSE standards," says PSA director, Magne Ognedal.

"Accidents and undesirable incidents affect people who work in the oil sector, as well as their families. These incidents also have an impact on the companies' reputation, production and finances. This illustrates just how important it is to maintain high standards of health, safety and environment in the petroleum activities," Ognedal adds.

Cooperation with ONS
The PSA Award has been established in cooperation with the Offshore Northern Seas (ONS) foundation. This connection to the international oil exhibition, held every second year in Stavanger, has led to the award being given an official English name - the PSA Award.

"Both the support for this award and the establishment of the HSE lunch as a key part of the oil exhibition's conference program show that ONS also recognizes safety as an important element in the oil activities. This is gratifying," says Ognedal.

"In a broader sense, HSE is about protecting people and the environment. ONS views the PSA Award as a new and important element in the work to strengthen overall HSE efforts. By cooperating on this award, we want to contribute to even greater focus on this area in the future," says Managing Director Kjell Ursin-Smith in the ONS Foundation.

HSE results, potential and economy
Detailed information on the background for the PSA Award and the criteria that form its basis are published on the PSA's website (www.psa.no). Here you will also find an electronic form to nominate candidates, which may be individuals, companies, other public authorities, institutions or organizations.

Nominations with accompanying documentation must be registered by 1 May this year.

The Safety Forum, the central cooperative arena for the industry parties and the authorities in HSE issues, will be the reference group for the PSA Award.

The reference group will consider the results achieved for health, environment and safety through the measures, potential applications for the measure in other oil and gas provinces around the world, and the financial aspects of the measure in terms of safety and more efficient activities.

On this basis, the reference group will make recommendations to the Petroleum Safety Authority Norway from among the nominated candidates.

Minister will present PSA Award
The Petroleum Safety Authority Norway determines who the prize will go to. This year the winner will be announced by the Minister of Labour and Social Inclusion, Bjarne Håkon Hanssen, who will also present the award.

The award will be presented for the first time on 24 August during the HSE lunch, which is a key part of the ONS conference program.

Press contact in the PSA Norway:
Ole-Johan Faret
Phone: +47 970 54 064
E-mail: ole-johan.faret@ptil.no